Unilag To Immortalise 6 Past Vcs At Convocation

(Last Updated On: January 25, 2017)

The University of Lagos says six of its past Vice chancellors who have not been honoured so far for their contributions to the growth of the institution will have monuments on UNILAG campus named after them.

The decision as ratified by the governing council of the University will see the University’s main auditorium renamed as J.F. Ade Ajayi Auditorium while the second access road will henceforth be known as Akinpelu Adesola road.

The radiography hostel is to be renamed after Kwaku Adadevoh, the DLI Auditorium is to be renamed Nurudeen Alao auditorium, the multipurpose halls are now to be referred to as Jelili Adesola Omotola hall while the staff school hall will be named after Professor Tolulope Odugbemi.

The unveiling ceremony which holds on Monday, January 23, 2017 will kick start activities making the 49th Convocation ceremony of the University of Lagos.

The Vice Chancellor, Prof. Rahamon Bello made this known while addressing newsmen from both the prints and electronics media who all converged on the senate chamber for a Pre convocation press conference.

Prof. Bello who reeled out the itinerary of activities marking the 2015/2016 convocation said apart from honouring the past Vice Chancellors, three eminent Nigerian will bag honorary doctorate degrees of the University, they are the University’s pro chancellor and Sheu of Borno; His Royal Eminence, Alhaji (Dr) Abubakar Ibn Umar Gambai El – Kanemi who will be honoured with Doctorate of Sciences (honoris causa) in Public Administaration, Professor John Pepper Clark who will smile home with a Doctorate of Literature (honoris causa) and Professor Ayodele Francis Ogunye who will be conferred with a Doctorate of Sciences (honoris causa) in Engineering.

The UNILAG Vice chancellor said Prof. Osita Frank Giwa-Osagie will be honoured with Emeritus professorship of the University of Lagos while four other Professors namely: Babajide Alo, Olukayode Amund, Cecilia Ihuoma Igwilo and Jim Ijenwa Unah will become distinguished professors.

Prof. Bello said Nigeria’s minister of solid minerals development, former governor of Ekiti State and an Alumnus of UNILAG, Dr. Kayode Fayemi will deliver the convocation lecture titled “Building a successor Generation: Reflection on value and knowledge in Nation building” at the University’s main auditorium under the chairmanship of Rtd. Major General Ike Omar Sanda Nwachukwu in the afternoon on Monday 23rd of January while a Chancellor’s reception holds later in the evening at the Chancellor’s lodge on UNILAG campus, Akoka, Lagos.

The Vice Chancellor said Tuesday, 24th to Thursday, 26th of January 2017 will be for graduation proper with grandaunts from the faculties of Arts, Education, Environmental sciences, Sciences and Social sciences having theirs on Tuesday, graduating students of faculties of basic medical sciences, Clinical sciences, dental sciences, business administration, Engineering, Law, Pharmacy and the Distant Learning Institute will have theirs on Wednesday while Thursday will be dedicated to graduating Students of the school of Post graduate studies as well as honorary awards.

Prof Bello said, “A total of 12,617 graduating students will receive their degrees, diplomas and certificate during this year’s convocation, out of which, 6,900 representing 54.7% will receive either first degrees or diplomas while 5,717 representing 45.3% will receive postgraduate degrees in conformity with the University’s stance to become a postgraduate institution.”

The UNILAG vice chancellor who was flanked by other principal officers of the university said two female students; Bankole Taiwo from the Department of Cell Biology and Genetics, Faculty of Science and Omotuyi Oyindamola Ajoke from the department of systems Engineering, Faculty of Engineering who made a perfect Cumulative Grade Point Average CGPA of 5.00 will be unveiled at the 2015/2016 convocation as a total of 231students passed in the first class division.

Reeling out some of the sterling achievements of the University of Lagos in recent times, Prof Bello said NITDA+Nihilent e-Governance Awards named UNILAG the best tertiary University (Federal), the Nigeria Technology Award named UNILAG the best Federal University in use of technology while UNILAG website was named the Federal University website/portal of the year all for 2016 , a feat which the UNILAG VC said underscores how well the University has performed in revolutionalising the day to day operations through ICT.

Being the last convocation for his tenure as Vice chancellor which lapses in November, Prof Bello particularly appreciated every staff and student of the University for the support he has enjoyed so far, he said a total of 50,785 graduates were produced during his tenure and that his administration succeeded largely in placing UNILAG on autopilot, a feat which Prof Bello believes will be sustained even after his tenure.