(Last Updated On: July 20, 2017)


By Gbenga Gbelee

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress and the

Party’s governors have fixed July 29, 2017, for the party’s ward congresses which

marks the beginning of the APC’s national convention.

They also set a committee, headed by Kaduna State Governor, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai,

to come up with the ruling party’s definition of restructuring.

Others in the 10-member committee include the governors of Osun State, Mr. Rauf

Aregbesola; Mallam Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano state, and Governor Simon Lalong of

Plateau state.

Other members are Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun;  a former

governor of Edo State, Prof. Oserheimen Osunbor; the APC National Organising

Secretary, Senator Osita Izunaso; the National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Bolaji

Abdullahi; as well as Hajia Fatima Bala.

Senator Olubunmi Adetumbi will serve as the committee’s secretary.

These were part of the decisions reached after a three-hour closed-door meeting

between the APC’s NWC and the governors elected on the platform of the party in


The party leadership also agreed that henceforth, principal officers of the National

Assembly, who are members of the party, would be part of the NWC/governors’

consultative meeting.

Addressing journalists after the meeting, APC’s National Publicity Secretary and

former Sports Minister, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi, said some of the key issues

discussed include restructuring, the national convention and the processes leading to

the national convention of the party.

He said the party feels the need to sit down and develop a shared understanding of

what it meant by restructuring in its manifesto.

Mallam Abdullahi said the committee which is headed by Kaduna State Governor,

Mallam Nasir el-Rufai is saddled mainly with the responsibility to define what the

APC means by restructuring for the understanding of members and not a committee to

set up modalities for the restructuring

Also, the Zamfara State Governor, Abdul-Aziz Yari, who spoke on behalf of the APC

governors, explained that the ward congresses of the party would start the process

leading up to the national convention.

Gov. Yari said a number of issues were discussed ranging from congresses, which will

commence on Saturday to elect two delegates for the convention.

The Zamfara state helmsman also noted that the relationship between the governors

and the National Assembly coupled with the need to have a meeting between the

principal officers of the National Assembly, the governors and the party also came up

for discussion.

The governor added that the party leadership reviewed the Osun State senatorial

election and came to the conclusion that mistakes were made and strategies should be

put in place to avoid such in the future.

Gov. Yari dismissed insinuations that the victory of the Peoples Democratic Party in

the Osun State election meant that the party had resurrected in the state.

Rather, He described it as a wake-up call on how to deal with things like that in future.

Asked if the recent development in the opposition PDP was responsible for APC’s

decision to reactivate its convention mechanism, Gov. Yari reaffirmed the position of

the party’s constitution which clearly states the process for convening the party’s


He made it clear that the party has to put a process in place for its mid -term

convention adding that it is not an elective convention and the three delegates to be

elected on Saturday, July 29, will be the delegates for the convention, which will fill

some of the existing vacancies.

In his opening remarks, the National Chairman of the party, Chief John Odigie-

Oyegun, said the turnout of the governors at the meeting indicated that it had become

an avenue to gauge opinion towards the smooth running of the party.

Those who attended the meeting included Governors Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara, Atiku

Bagudu of Kebbi state,Mallam Nasir El-Rufai of Kaduna) and Simon Lalong of Plateau


Others were Governors;  Rochas Okorocha of Imo, Badaru Abubakar  of Jigawa state,

Yahaya Bello of Kogi state and Abdullahi  Ganduje of Kano state.

The deputy governors of Lagos, Osun, Ogun, Nasarawa, Benue, Niger and Borno

represented their governors.