JUPEB celebrates exiting Governing Board members

(Last Updated On: November 8, 2017)


By James, Michael Igiri

The Registrar and Chief Executive Officer, Joint Universities Preliminary Examinations Board (JUPEB), Prof Duro Ajeyalemi has showered encomiums on all the founding board members of the examination body saying their efforts have cumulatively taken the board to the enviable position it has attained since creation in 2013.

Prof Ajeyalemi stated this during a lunch session which held, Tuesday at the conference room Protea Hotels, Ikeja after a special meeting of the JUPEB governing board held in honour of the chairman and other exiting members of the governing board.

The Professor of Science and Technology Education said JUPEB, has under the leadership of Prof Rahamon Bello moved from the modest examinination body it was, to a position where it now has several partnering universities. He revealed that the next phase will see it become an African regional exam with an extension to some West African countries in the coming years.

Prof Ajeyalemi, who was appointed in May, 2015 congratulated all Vice Chancellors of the participating universities while also enjoining them to be more actively dedicated to the board’s activities.

He further congratulated the newly appointed Chairman of the board, and Incoming Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Prof Oluwatoyin Ogundipe on his new appointment, and tasked him on the need to consolidate on gains made by his predecessor.

Highlight of the event was the distribution of awards to all exiting board members including the former and incumbent Vice Chancellors of the University of Lagos, Ilorin, FUNAB, FUTO, FUTA, and others.

The outgoing Chairman of the Board, and Vice Chancellor, University of Lagos, Prof Rahamon Bello, thanked the board on behalf of his colleagues for the opportunity to have served JUPEB, and stated a renewed commitment to the board’s affairs. He also congratulated the Registrar on the occasion of his birthday and wished him well in his dealings as the board’s Chief Executive Officer.