(Last Updated On: June 14, 2018)

By Olueaseun Ajidagba

Government College Ibadan Old Boys Association Cricket Club (GCIOBACC) on Sunday
emerged winners of the Club Cricket Committee (CCC) League Super 4 Championship in
They beat League Champions and eternal rivals, Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club (ILCC) by 7
wickets to lift the coveted trophy at the Cricket Oval of the Tafawa Balewa Square in an
event sponsored by Notore Chemical Industries Plc.
Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club won the toss and elected to bat with opener Friday Udoh top
scoring with 34 runs, Femi Solebo had 12 runs while the duo of Elijah Olaleye and James
Chukwu both added a paltry 9 runs in an unconvincing first innings performance.
Isaac Okpe grabbed 4 wickets, 22 runs, 3 maidens in 8 overs, Elijah Monday 3 wickets, 15
runs, 4 overs and Chimezie Onwuzulike 2 wickets, 19 runs, 1 maiden in 7.5 overs to ensure
that ILCC batsmen did not have joy in the batting crease to finish on 103 all out in 35.5
The strategy of GCIOBACC to have Middle order batsman Osita Onwuzulike open batting so
as to take advantage of power play paid off with Osita scoring 18 runs alongside his partner
Sulaimon Runsewe who dropped 10 runs before both players lost their wickets on 32 runs.
Despite Captain Abiodun Abioye claiming 2 wickets, 19 runs in 5 overs it did not deter
Captain Chimezie Onwuzulike's brilliant 44 runs not out and Rotimi Adesanya’s 16 runs not
out which took the Ibadan based side to 107-3 in a glorious batting conditions.
Speaking at the closing ceremony, Chairman of Club Cricket Committee League, Mr Charles
Omoera, thanked all participating teams for demonstrating great spirit of sportsmanship all
through the season. He went further to appreciate Notore Chemical Industries Plc the
official sponsor of the league for easing the financial burden of running the league. The
former Cosmopolitan player finally congratulated Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club who won the
league for the eight time, Government College Ughelli who gained promotion to Division I
after spending a season in Division 2 not also forgetting Government College Ibadan Old
Boys Association Cricket Club who won the Super Four Finals.
In addition, Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of Notore Power and Infrastructure,
Mr Femi Solebo, praised the leadership of CCC Board for organizing a successful league
despite having challenge of grounds to play cricket. He further added that Eroton
Exploration and Production Company Limited and Notore Chemical Industries Plc are
committed to supporting both the Nigerian Cricket National Team (Yellow Greens) and
Club Cricket Committee League. The former Chairman of CCC went further to congratulate
GCIOBACC for winning the CCC Super 4 Final while also congratulating his own team ILCC
for winning the league for eight times.
Also, Miss Ngozi Mba, Head of Corporate Communications, Notore Chemical Industries Plc
while fielding questions from the media professionals, said theyare excited in the
continued sponsorship of the Club Cricket Committee League (CCC League), as we feel
strongly that their mission to revive cricket at grassroot level in Nigeria resonates greatly
with our mission in the enhancement of quality of life for all Nigerians through our

“We are also pleased to see that our sponsorship of CCC League has snowballed into
churning out talents for the Cricket National team of Nigeria which has positively impacted
on the country’s performance as well as inspired other young athletes to pursue their sport
“On behalf of our Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Onajite
Okoloko, and everyone at Notore, we would like to congratulate Government College
Ibadan Old Boys Association Cricket Club and Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club on their
performance during the Super 4 Finals, and we look forward to supporting the CCC again
during the next cricket season”. Mba concluded.
After eight months of great cricket display from 15 teams divided into 6 in Division I and 9
in Division 2, some cricketers stood out distinct. They include:

Awards in Division I:
Bowler of the Series: Seye Olympio (Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club) 21 wickets.
Batsman of the Series: Ovais Yussuf (Lagos Asians Cricket Club) 527 runs in 8 innings.
Wicketkeeper of the Series: Emmanuel Okwudili (Federal Government College Warri
Old Boys Cricket Club) 10 catches and 2 stumped.
Fielder of the Series: Leke Oyede (Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club) 8 catches.
Man of the Series: Chimezie Onwuzulike (Government College Ibadan Old Boys
Association Club Cricket) 361 runs, 16 wickets, 6 catches in 9 innings.

Awards in Division 2:
Bowler of the Series: Alex Ihenwokeleme (Government College Ughelli) 28 wickets.
Batsman of the Series: Muhammed Moshood (Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club 2) 173 runs.
Wicketkeeper of the Series: Muhammed Moshood (Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club 2) 13
catches and 1 stump.
Fielder of the Series: Gopal Kankani (1004 Stars) 7 catches.
Most Improved Cricketer: Muhammed Moshood (Ibeju Lekki Cricket Club 2)
Man of the Series: Vincent Adewoye (Government College Ughelli) 142 runs, 16 wickets, 2 catches.
Also present at the closing ceremony include: Mr Kwesi Sagoe,Former Nigeria Cricket
Federation President and former Chairman of African Cricket Association, Mr Koffi
Sagoe,Immediate Past Chairman of Lagos State Cricket Association, Mr Mathias
Devadayal,Vice Chairman, Club Cricket Committee League, Mr Edo Ukpong, Club
Cricket Committee League Legal Adviser, Mr Kome Agodo,Team Manager Nigeria
Cricket National Team, Mr Albert Okumagba,Chief Executive Officer and Managing
Director of BGL,Mr Debola Ogunshina,Team Manager of Government College Ibadan
Old Boys Association Club Cricket and Mrs Oluwakemi Ibrahim,Representing Mr
Tajudeen Adebambo, Principal Ansar-ur-Deen College, Isolo.